I had visitors this weekend, and after a great lunch at a Nashville landmark, the San Antonio Taco Company, a few of the girls wanted to get ice cream next door.

While I waited for them to get their Ben and Jerry’s, I read the “mission statement” on the wall.  This was part of it:

“Capitalism and the wealth it produces do not create opportunity for everyone equally. We recognize that the gap between the rich and the poor is wider than at any time since the 1920’s. We strive to create economic opportunities for those who have been denied them and to advance new models of economic justice that are sustainable and replicable.”

It was ironic, then, when I turned around and saw that my friend had just paid $5 for a small cup of ice cream, and that the pints in the freezer section cost three times what they would have cost in the grocery store.

Go fig.

