A few weeks ago, I decided to write notes to a few people who had impacted my life.  The impacts weren’t earth-shattering or life-changing.  I had gone for years without really thinking about these people.  And perhaps that’s why I thought it was important to write to them.   The bigger the impact, the more likely the person knows about it.  But that doesn’t make the small impacts unimportant.

I knew that if either of these people passed away, I would regret not sharing my thoughts.

The letters weren’t Pulitzer-prize winning or long — just short, sweet, to the point.  I am thankful for what they have done in my life, this is what I’m doing now, I hope they are doing well, yadda yadda yadda.

Today I recieved a letter back from one of them, and I knew my short, quick letter was worth it.

I’m not saying all of this to congratulate myself or to brag how thoughtful I am.  Far from it.  I think it’s my lack-of-thoughtfulness that made me want to write the letters after all these years.

I’m sharing this because I don’t think enough of us think about all the people in our lives.  Yes, some people have made huge differences in our lives — our parents, our spouses, close friends, a mentor, a pastor.   But others have only been in our lives for short times– perhaps came and went quietly, unassuming, and are now almost forgotten.  What about these people?

Every person has been put in our lives for a specific reason– from the cashier at the grocery store or the person who cuts you off in traffic to your next-door neighbor or child.  What have they done for us?  What are we doing for them?

Take the time to thank a few people from your past.  Perhaps they have no idea how they affected you or think they have gone unnoticed, and your thank you will help them get through the next day.   Maybe they have completely forgotten you, and your note or phone call will bring back memories.

Regardless, it’s worth the small effort.  And maybe their response will make your day as much as your note made theirs.

