Three posts in one day.  Whew!

I had to post this… this news has made my day!!!  I wish I could throw a party!  But since I can’t, I’ll just sit here and drink Yuengling while blogging.

This morning, Pope Benedict approved 21 decrees to advance the causes for beatification and canonization of several future (we assume!) saints.  The list is full of great names, including Holy Cross priest Andre Bessette, a distant relative of friends of mine, and the incredible Polish Solidarity priest, Jerzy Popieluzsko, who was killed by the Communists.

It was no surprise that one of the causes he advanced (by declaring his life one of heroic virtue) was John Paul II, who can now properly be called “Venerable,” and who is now just a miracle away from beatification.  This news was pretty well-known.

But the surprise was the other pontiff whose heroic virtue was proclaimed.

Pope Pius XII!!!!

I’m so HAPPY!  One step closer to beatification, one step closer to canonization!!

From H. V. Morton’s A Traveler in Rome, one of the best books I’ve read on Rome, which was written during Pius’ lifetime:

“There probably has never been a Pope who is more certain to be canonized than Pius XII, and the stories I had heard about him made me anxious to see a man who will one day be numbered among the saints.”

Recommended reading to celebrate: Crown of Glory by Alden Hatch.

