I began writing this last night, but couldn’t finish because my cable signal went down.  This isn’t as true this morning, but I’m writing it anyway.

It seems that no one realizes we’re in a state of emergency here in Nashville except Jim Cantore and the weather channel. I could barely find the story on the national news networks. (Note: I just looked at FoxNews, and we’re one of the lead stories now.  It’s harder to find us on CNN.)

And our fearless leader has been silent. Hello, President Obama! At least come out of your house and make a teleprompter statement about how much the country will support us.

Am I the only one who thinks this is odd?  I thought Presidents jumped at the chance to make morale-boosting statements and to send the National Guard.  Our Governor finally made a statement asking President Obama for help, and he still hasn’t said anything to us.  I don’t want him to come, but at least show that you know this red-state exists.

UPDATE: Well, the President finally signed a Tennessee Disaster Declaration today.  I think he reads my blog.  Just kidding– I’m sure Tennesseans were showing their displeasure, as fatality count rises and the cleanup begins.  Please continue to pray for the thousands of people affected by this disaster.

There are a lot of sites you can visit to see pictures of what it’s like down here, but I think this slideshow gives a good handful of shots — with Johnny Cash, to boot: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcmbX_JO95g

